14 is my lucky number...x

03/01/2014 21:11

As always, no plan or direction, just 14 things that trip off my tongue in no particular order. 2014, you see what I did there?

1. 

As I opened this article Felix just crawled towards me. It's the first time he's ever crawled forwards. Fear. Pride. More fear than pride. This boy, at 7 months, is now completely mobile and able to negotiate the 3000m steeplechase. Maybe not, he's now looking like he has no idea how he did it and is reversing away again in total dismay

2. 

I've also just solved the 8 out of 10 cats numbers game in about 15 seconds when no-one else got it, other than Rachel Riley of course, standard. I am Rainman.

3. 

Anyway, these 2 small moments of joy follow a long break from the blogosphere. I've not posted for 3 weeks, in which time much has happened, unfortunately my train revolution didn't gather much pace on 18th December, but I'm pleased to say that finally the Royal Marsden team are going to take a shot at fixing my cleft lisping palate gape, once my 40th birthday celebrations are done and dusted. In theory I’ll be able to talk again without the aid of a denture. 18 months late, but better late than never as they say.

4. 

In 36 days I'll be 40 years old. I'm well excited. Not many people revere their 40th birthday. I'm totally stoked that I'm going to see it and see it with some gusto. Being told your 30th birthday is unlikey to happen gives you some perspective. Cancer aside I've always thought I'd live until I was 80 for some reason, so 40 is a mere halfway marker. I’m going to have a big party in the country with people who I love and respect. It’s a fitting event as a whirlwind 18 months culminates in a big celebration of life and the support network I’ve had throughout.

5.

I’m a dad for a full 12 months. Nothing could possibly give me more motivation, fear, confidence and expectation than this. This love is boundless. This love defines me. This love grows stronger by the day.

6. 

I just have the feeling that this year is going to be more fun than 2013. No calendar year will be more definitive than 2013, I know this much. But, man I'm still not 100% bombastic and rocking my most alluring charm offensive. I feel like I've ridden a massive storm and although the waters have clamed, I'm still a little weather beaten and afraid to raise the main sail again, but I'm getting there. Paradise is being found this year with my chaotic life compass. 

7. 

This new house is a happy house. We're feeling at home already. The neighbours didn't batter an eyelid at the mound of bottles and cans in the recycling yesterday; in fact one of them offered me their box because it was obvious ours couldn't hold the ridiculous evidence of alcoholism. Another neighbour apologised for shouting at me, which is odd, as it’s usually me apologising to neighbours for shouting (not at them, just generally shouting and whooping). This is a happy home.

8.

If everything follows the plan, business is going to be really rewarding this year. Financially maybe but most importantly, emotionally wealthy. We have a chance of really making a difference to a lot of lives (for the better) and I’ll be running with my own ideals, living by my own moral codes, uncompromised in death or glory.

9.

I hate no-one. Hate is a burden to large to carry. Indifference and forgiveness release the pressure of hate, this much I’ve learned in the past year or so. I therefore feel empowered by this as 2014 turns on its thrusts and blows full force at my leathery weather worn face. Stronger, more measured and in control of the variables that were spinning wildly beyond my control this time last year.

10.

My little toe is ever less painful. I still have my football boots, they nearly got sent to the charity shop in the house move, but I’ll say it now; I want to put them on again and have at least one terrifying run out on Thursday night this year before finally hanging them up. It’s possible I will complete physio and the nerve will repair enough this year for me to have feeling in the left hand side of my leg again. I live in hope; the Thursday night footballers may relish the laughs that my ailing frame undoubtedly will draw. This will be a milestone I’m determined to reach this year and I’m usually pretty good at hitting my targets (contrary to popular belief!)

11.

I’ll exercise more no matter what, than last year. We will teach these little boys how to swim. They’ll be heavier so my daily dumbbell workout will increase in its mass throughout the year. My guns will be ripped.

12.

The boys WILL sleep through the night this year. Something that is yet to happen and shows no sign of being the case anytime soon, but my guess is that some time this summer, when we least expect it, we’ll get 8 hours of sleep out of the blue and the world will suddenly feel ‘normal’ again.

13.

Because 2013 has positioned 2014 to become a wonderful year. Not for me, not for you, but for everyone. There’s a sense of revolution in the air, a sense that poverty will be given a battering, that the oppression and obedience of the people will falter, that we are ‘one’ and we will finish this year with more control over our earth. Just reading people’s FaceBook and Twitter new year wishes this year tells a story of an uprising, a spring in the step, something unstoppable that the all seeing eyes cannot suppress.

14.

I might get married this year. Stranger things have happened and maybe the time is finally right to trap Fi, my baby mother, my soul mate, my forever sister.

One Love

Jez

x

—————

Back


Contact

Bigdaddyjezza

twitter: @bigdaddyjezza